Update end of Feb 2009

I finally got to set of scales:

80.4 kg = 177 lbs = 12 stone 9 lbs and 25% body fat.

The 25 is important – 25% and over body fat is one clinical definition of obese. So if I keep going I will soon be un-obese for the first time in years.

I have eased off the effort the last couple of weeks but I hope to get back on this week.

As a matter of interest I walked with a 15 kg rucsac the other day. It felt hard, I felt like I was lumbering, I felt slow and plodding. Somewhat shocking then that is similar to the weight I have lost since Christmas! No wonder I was feeling a bit slow then!

I still have another 10 kilos I’d like to lose – I can’t wait to feel how easy walking and running will be then!

2 Responses

  1. Maybe there’s different standards in the UK? We categorize 25% over as overweight, and 30% over as obese.

  2. It looks like you are right – the US and the UK seem to have different standards of obesity. How odd!
    We have BMI over 25 as overweight and over 30 as obese, but thats a ridiculous measurement so I don’t use it.
    But I just checked around and for males (below 40 yrs) 25% body fat + is obese in the UK.

Leave a Reply

