Losing weight

Most ‘experts’ agree that diet alone is not effective and you need to do some exercise to lose weight, or reduce your body fat.

Personally I don’t disagree, but I think thats wrongheaded. I think the key is increased activity.

And I think the best way is to find an activity you enjoy and allow yourself to participate in it as much as possible.

I reckon this is a much more positive and pleasant focus to reduce fat. Instead of being miserable and saying I can’t have that biscuit, or that cake or sweet, you say yay I can’t wait to go to my step class, or circuits or whatever.

Ive started mountain biking in the local forests, yesterday I saw a roe deer – neat. What I have found is that if I do some decent exercise I don’t crave the junk food as much and controlling my eating becomes much easier.

I don’t know what to suggest if there is no physical activity you like. I wouldn’t like to claim there was a specific exertion level that you need to reach (the so called fat burning zone). I think anything that is more energetic than sitting in front of a tele or a computer is a good thing.

There is a great episode of 2 pints of lager and a packet of crisps where Gaz gets fat and needs to lose weight. His favourite hobby and his chosen activity is masturbation. Of course it works in the story, no idea if it does in real life – if you try it let us know how you get on!

Leave a Reply

