Body fat monitor

One of the problems of trying to lose fat by measuring weight (technically mass, but lets leave that) is that they are not the same thing.

Body weight and changes in weight are driven by many things not just body fat content. The key one being hydration level. How much you drank and how long ago it was can affect weight by a couple of kilos or pounds. (10 pints (of lager for example) would be about 5 kg or 11 lbs!)

This is why the advice is generally to weigh yourself first thing in the morning, at least there is some chance for consistency if you always do the same thing for 6/7/8 hours before the weigh-in.

One of the gadgets I find very useful is my body fat monitor – its a normal enough bathroom weigh scales, but with some electric pads that measure the body fat percentage. One particularly useful aspect is the fact that if you are dehydrated your fat % is higher than if fully hydrated. This gives me a useful sense check of any weight. Rather than rushing out to the cake shop because I weigh a kilo lighter one day than the previous, the body fat reads higher and I know its just because I’m dehydrated.

My one is a bit old and a bit crap. It doesn’t remember my height so I have to enter that every time I want to check my body composition (its not like my height varies much often!).

I bought a replacement only to find it is not a monitor in that it doesn’t measure – it estimates! WTF? I can do calculations, I have a computer -I’m using it now. A body fat analyser that estimates body fat based on height age and weight is shite, complete shite quite frankly. Tell me the calculation, I’ll do it on a spreadsheet and save 40 quid on a pointless scale.

If you are in the market for a body fat analyser or body composition monitor, I’d recommend one that measures not just estimates – unless the electric current part could be a problem (eg if pregnant). Bio impedence and ‘not suitable if pregnant’ are thingsĀ to look for.

I actually got a free hand held one from saving the tokens on some cereal boxes and its pretty good. You don’t have to get your kit off to use it which makes it a bit more convenient.

Leave a Reply

